Gun Hub Forums banner

Looking to buy a handgun

2K views 10 replies 5 participants last post by  Doughboy 
#1 ·
Hello, I am a bit new to all of the details of guns and
I would like your help picking one out.
I am leaning towards a 9mm but it doesn’t have to be.
I was very interested in the Glock 26 because of the other magazine options, particularly the 50 rd drum.
I seem to like, Walther, FN, and HK. I am going to want to put a laser on it and like the option of larger magazines.
Any ideas or thoughts?

#4 ·
JPiroch8, you have to understand that a question like yours creates a "where to begin?" atmosphere on a forum like this.

You were right to ask some folks who have experience in these matters (as opposed to relying on the salesman at the gun shop or the "experts" on YouTube) but the fact is most people who ask this question don't like the answer.

If you know next to nothing about guns a high-capacity centerfire semi-auto is not the best place to start. Although the Glock is a fairly mainstream gun and 9mm is the most mainstream of calibers they're not the best tools for a learner. The Glock's trigger can be unforgiving and even the moderate recoil of the 9mm can complicate the process of learning to shoot well, with a good sight picture, trigger pull, and follow-through.

The correct answer to your question is probably to get a .22 handgun, either revolver or semi-auto, and get some training in how to use it. A .22 won't break the bank, is something you'll always love to shoot, is (relatively) cheap to feed, is easy to control, and is something you can start your kids on if/when you have them. If you decide you want to move up to something more substantial later on you'll be doing so with some background knowledge, a little skill, and a better idea of what's best suited to your needs. Plus, you'll always be glad you have a .22.