DGR Opinions - Gun Hub
Gun Hub

Go Back   Gun Hub > Battle Rifles > M1 Garand

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2008, 06:55 PM   #1
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,207
DGR Opinions

Was going to order one of Dean's Garand builds. Any opinions? I know it is a pricey route, but right now I am lazy and don't want to get into reparking and cleaning stocks on a CMP.

I have been badly burned by Miltech before, not just overpriced, but a gun with a shot out barrel, a jumping reciever [email protected] for the newbie should be Miltech's motto.....However, I have read alot of good stuff about DGR. And am no longer a battlerifle newbie, but I don't know a lot about Garands. I can tell a the difference between a beat up rifle and a decent one now!

Want a nice looking, good shooting Garand that I don't need to "fix up" myself.

any opinion welcome...good or bad.
Audie is offline  
Old 06-10-2008, 07:10 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Near Auburn, CA
Posts: 914
Re: DGR Opinions

I have heard nothing but praise for DGR.

You might also consider a correct grade from CMP:
http://www.odcmp.com/Services/Rifles/m1garand.htm

Probably a bit less than DGR and a very nice gun. I bought one from a forum member and it looks like new and they are not rebuilt.
RenoF250 is offline  
Old 06-10-2008, 07:44 PM   #3
JAS
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Fremont, Ohio 13.6 miles from the north store
Posts: 2,424
Re: DGR Opinions

You will be completely satisfied with Dean's work. I took the second Garand I ever owned down to Tennesee and met Dean personally. He is a very likeable and friendly guy, and he really knows his Garands. The rifle Dean built for me is still one of my three best shooters, is 100% reliable, and is totally J.C.G. legal. I spent the next three years and 5 complete M1 builds to get one that shoots as nice as Dean's.

Here it is. (The flash makes the park look lighter than it really is.



JAS is offline  
 
Old 06-11-2008, 09:40 AM   #4
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,207
Re: DGR Opinions

Thanks for the help. I have talked to Dean before, I bought a 1911 pistol from him years ago.

I decided to take the plunge. Ordered an SA with milled trigger guard, slim stock in standard 30-06.

Very nice people to deal with. Now I have to wait, but will post some pics when it arrives.....I hate waiting.


nice looking rifle JAS!
Audie is offline  
Old 06-11-2008, 11:50 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: In Central Occupied PDRK.
Posts: 807
Re: DGR Opinions

This is a Winchester that I refinished. The stock is from Dean, and was a fitted, but unfinished one. I stained and finished it.
Sailormilan2 is offline  
Old 06-11-2008, 03:47 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 5,131
Re: DGR Opinions

DGR fits and shapes Wenig stocks. I've seen several and they're worth the money over the Boyd's ones. Having fitted two Wenig stocks myself, I'm here to tell you that Dean's prices are VERY reasonable.

Boyds are pretty good on the inside; very minor work maybe necessary, but they are more or less drop-in. The downside is that the wood is a little... less than top quality. Their profiles are a little funny in places (scant in the grip, severely overweight in the handguards).

The Wenig wood is fantastic and the contour is very good. They take a lot of work on the inside though.

CMP stocks are Boyd's that are slimmed down by Dupage Trading.

Two Wenig fancy stocks on the left, Boyd's (put on a diet) on the right. Notice the bottom of the grips.
http://webpages.charter.net/tyoberg/upload/DSCN0562.jpg
30Cal is offline  
Old 06-12-2008, 07:01 PM   #7
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,207
Re: DGR Opinions

I've never been a Boyd's fan....and DGR told me the stock will be slim very much like they were in ww2.

Nice looking job on the garand...I have always liked that reddish finish.

I went with the standard walnut dark to get more of a ww2 look. I was tempted to go with his bastogne, they sure look nice. I bet you get a lot of complements at the range.
Audie is offline  
Old 06-12-2008, 08:29 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 234
Re: DGR Opinions

Audie,

I have not had Dean do any work on an M1, but I have had him rebuild an M1903 and his work is outstanding.

Mike
mtpo is offline  
Old 06-13-2008, 10:13 AM   #9
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 371
Re: DGR Opinions

His fitting work on the Garand stocks is just superb. I finished this set with many coats of BLO. If I did not have a very good Garand 'smith locally I would not hesitate to use Dean for the work.




John Rippert is offline  
Old 06-13-2008, 12:47 PM   #10
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,207
Re: DGR Opinions

I agree, locally there are a few, but I figured you get what you pay for....usually.
Audie is offline  
Reply

  Gun Hub > Battle Rifles > M1 Garand


Search tags for this page

dgr garand

,

dgr garand review

,
dgr garand stock
,

dgr guns

,
dgr stock value garand
,
does dgr really build nice garands
,

dupage garand stock

,
garand dupage stock
,
m1 garand dgr
Click on a term to search for related topics.

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Opinions please! MVF Rifles 0 04-19-2006 07:18 PM
opinions on chetth M14 3 03-31-2006 01:21 PM
Let's get some opinions on this hired_gun M1 Carbine 6 04-17-2005 05:39 AM
opinions hired_gun M1 Carbine 6 10-27-2004 06:15 PM




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2002 - 2020 Gun Hub. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.