Riverbank Armory M1 Carbines? - Gun Hub
Gun Hub

Go Back   Gun Hub > Battle Rifles > M1 Carbine

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2005, 04:08 AM   #1
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 14
Riverbank Armory M1 Carbines?

Has anyone done any business with Riverbank Armory, and if so what were your impressions?
SirMissalot is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 04:57 AM   #2
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,975
Riverbank operates under the names Riverbank, m1carbineparts and, on eBay and GunBroker, under the additional name of abcleigh. Their "other" business is selling and repairing pachinko machines, which are the Japanese version of our "pinball" machines.

I personally would not recommend that you purchase anything from them.
ChairborneRanger is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 05:13 AM   #3
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: N.E.Ohio
Posts: 3,218
While I personally, have never gotten anything bad from him, I know many others have not had good results. So be advised, that his reputation leaves a lot to be desired.
jimb16 is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 06:14 AM   #4
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 14

Hmmm. Doesn't sound too good. Thanks for the advice.
SirMissalot is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 07:42 AM   #5
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 439
Um, isn't this the seller who routinely sells complete cartouche punch sets on e-bay? If so, then would that not indicate that they might also be using said punches on their merchandise?

I don't know that they do, but the possibility is too frightening for me to trust them.
Claven2 is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 08:08 AM   #6
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 70
Well with as much fake or mismarked parts that a handful of our local experts on here point out to less informed people like myself, I would avoid them.
VBAtog is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 08:29 AM   #7
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,207
I saw that the cartouche punch is sold on Numrich to anyone who wants to buy it. It will soon occur that looking at the cartouche will not determine authenticity. sucks.
Audie is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 05:39 PM   #8
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: N.E.Ohio
Posts: 3,218
No, George is NOT the guy who sells the stamps.
jimb16 is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 07:14 PM   #9
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 28
http://www.gunbroker.com/Auction/ViewIt ... m=29601746

He says this is a consignment and therefore sold as is no returns. The cartouches look to fresh to me when looking at the bruises and scratches around the stock. The finish on the major parts looks wrong. That bolt is not blued and is a lot lighter than the receiver. The recoil plate looks like a casting. Am I right or am I applying a much to critical eye?
fivequarter is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 07:46 PM   #10
Posts: n/a
No, you aren't too critical. About the only thing in his entire ad that is accurate, is that it IS a highwood stock. Everything else looks to be repros and restamped.
Old 03-09-2005, 04:12 AM   #11
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 28
SirMissalot: I came across his website 2-2 1/2 years ago, maybe longer ago. This is before I knew much at all except I did have one book by Bruce Canfield. Even before I found Battlerifles. My impression of Riverbank was that he was taking a lot of good collectable carbines and re-phosphating them incorrectly and doing to them whateverelse he does and then pricing them to high. He sometimes comes across a real gem and he knows it, but then his price is astronomical. Considering the obvious fakery that he does, I am not inclined to trust anything he says about anything he is selling. I haven't even been to his website for many moons now.
fivequarter is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 01:05 PM   #12
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 91
I guess the bottom line is that, whatever carbine part you need, no matter how rare, George can make it for you.

Trust me, I know from painful experience. Barrels made in WW2 just should not have fresh metal turnings stuck to the threads...
Plinker is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 09:11 PM   #13
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 54
i am glad to see that other people have figured out that George is a fraud. I have first hand knowledge of his dealings. He also is know to sell reproduction (made in asia) WW2 firing pins and gas plugs trying to pass them off as usgi and charging the appropriate price as if the parts were the real deal. anyone dealing with George should beware! i would not recommend him or his business to anyone.
fry is offline  

  Gun Hub > Battle Rifles > M1 Carbine

Search tags for this page
river bank armory
riverbank armeroy

riverbank armory

riverbank armory carbine parts
riverbank armory complaints
riverbank armory m1 carbine
riverbank armory reviews
riverbank m1 carbine
Click on a term to search for related topics.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
L&S Supply, Inc: Humped parts? Another Riverbank Armory? sam obispo M1 Carbine 7 01-19-2007 02:50 AM
riverbank armory cjmezz M1 Garand 11 07-28-2006 04:38 AM
FULTON ARMORY M1 Carbines WhiteCoyote M1 Carbine 2 12-12-2005 07:26 AM
Riverbank Special Cal30M1 M1 Carbine 12 12-09-2005 09:09 AM
riverbank parts reajoh M1 Carbine 1 08-07-2004 04:47 AM

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2002 - 2020 Gun Hub. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.