| || |
|10-20-2004, 07:04 PM||#1|
Join Date: Aug 2004
Class 3 for me???
OK. I've heard alot about it and read alot and heard too many different answers. I've heard it's a pain but can be done by anyone with a clean record, and I've heard you have to be an FFL but seen many weapons belonging to citizens.
Long question short without reading ten pages of NFA jibberish: Can I get a class 3 weapon in the state of Nebraska? Not buy an upright MP5, but more along the lines of legally putting m16 parts in an AR and registering it. Are there any differences to be seen in variations of SBR's, Full Autos, or Suppressors or is it all one stamp for one firearm? Thank you for the info.
|10-20-2004, 07:44 PM||#2|
Join Date: Jul 2004
I don't know Nebraska laws, so you'd have to check with your local LEOs or State laws to find out if you can legally own a full auto weapon in your home state. According to this chart, it looks like you can own anything other than explosive DDs:
But I wouldn't trust the chart... check with your State folks to find out for certain.
I'm not sure about the sear deal, either. The sear would have to be registered and transferrable, of course. You'd also have to pay the $200 transfer tax on something like that, assuming it was okay to add a registered sear to an AR-15 (and that wouldn't include the manufacturer's fees, either).
SBR, full autos, and suppressors all fall under the $200 NFA transfer tax. One tax per item. AOWs only cost $5 for a transfer tax.
It is a bit of a paperwork pain. I just sent off the paperwork for my first transfer (for a H&R Reising M50 subgun). Had to get the paperwork from the dealer, get the sheriff to sign both copies, get fingerprints taken, sign the $200 check, and then mail everything off. I'm sure the first time is the most difficult since it's new. Friends of mine who've done dozens of transfers say it's pretty simple once you know the routine. The worst part is the wait -- you can expect to wait 4-6 months for the transfer to be approved. And that's assuming you properly fill out the paperwork the first time.
~ Greg ~
|10-20-2004, 08:42 PM||#3|
Join Date: Oct 2004
The hardest part for me was finding someone who would sign the paperwork. The sheriff wouldn't do it and I had known him for 15 years! I finally had the County Prosecutor sign. His signature was acceptable to BATFE. After that, the rest was simple.
| || |
|10-21-2004, 06:22 PM||#4|
Join Date: Oct 2004
Re: Class 3 for me???
You don't need to be an FFL. Individuals and corporations can own C3 items. Why a corporation? Because many county CLEOs will not sign off on the Form 4 for individuals (a requirement) even if the state allows C3 ownership.
Corps don't require a CLEO signoff. Florida is a good example. Individuals can own anything under state regs. but many county sheriffs won't sign off. I live in Palm Beach County and nobody gets signed off. No problem. I formed a corp. and bought my suppressors. End of story.
|Thread||Thread Starter||Forum||Replies||Last Post|
|Just took the class||Barcochris||CCW||11||06-19-2009 04:52 PM|
|LFI Class 10/10/08 Phx||threefeathers||Gun Talk||7||10-26-2008 05:32 PM|
|So, is this Class III?||S-10 Maniac||Automatics||4||02-05-2006 10:47 AM|