Gun Hub

Go Back   Gun Hub > Gun Hub Forum > Ammunition

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-28-2009, 02:52 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
TommyGunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Morgan County, Alabama "In Dixie Land I'll take my stand."
Posts: 7,493
Dynamic Research Technologies, or "DRT" Ammo ...opinions?

I am curious if anyone here has opinions on Dynamic Research Technologies , AKA "DRT" ammunition, which is hollowpoint with frangible bullet ammo.
I just obtained a Sig Sauer P238 in .380 and it seems the only ammunition available outside of ball ammo (which is rare enough as it is in .380ACP!!) is DRT. It seems to be made with Star Line brass which I have never had any problem with.

The fact that it's frangible doesn't particularly bother me one way or another ... I would just like to know if there's some reason anyone might have to dislike or mistrust this ammo. Tried the search function but with no results ... ... .
TommyGunn is offline  
Old 11-28-2009, 03:46 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 83
Re: Dynamic Research Technologies, or "DRT" Ammo ...opinions?

As "DRT" is generally used as an acronym for "Dead Right There", this stuff might be the most politically incorrect ammo since "Black Talon".
igli is offline  
Old 11-28-2009, 06:31 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Charlie Petty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,363
Re: Dynamic Research Technologies, or "DRT" Ammo ...opinions?

Can you say hype???

Actually in a 380 I'm not sure that ball isn't the best choice.

I have not studied that ammo, but the word "fransible" says no penetration to me.
Charlie Petty is offline  
Old 11-28-2009, 07:28 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
TommyGunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Morgan County, Alabama "In Dixie Land I'll take my stand."
Posts: 7,493
Re: Dynamic Research Technologies, or "DRT" Ammo ...opinions?

Well, I am not truly concerned with "politically correct."
In the opinion of some experts I've read, .380ACP is mentioned as the smallest caliber recommended for self defense purposes.
I am interested however in that ball ammo might be considered better ....
Is it that in small calibers penetration becomes more important than a hollowpoint which (atleast in theory) opens and causes a larger wound channel -- as well as a lesser chance of a through & through and hitting a bystander?
TommyGunn is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 05:01 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
ExSarge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mountain Top, PA
Posts: 1,358
Re: Dynamic Research Technologies, or "DRT" Ammo ...opinions?

From what the advertisements read it is supposed to be pretty deadly.

It's also a bit costly, isn't it???
ExSarge is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 05:53 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Charlie Petty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,363
Re: Dynamic Research Technologies, or "DRT" Ammo ...opinions?

Quote:
atleast in theory) opens and causes a larger wound channel -- as well as a lesser chance of a through & through and hitting a bystander?
Theories are wonderful things. The only thing wrong is that they never seem to be proven

If overpenetraiton is such as risk why aren't we worried about the 70% of the rounds fired by cops that don't hit the target?

You may have guessed by now that I have some strong opinions on stuff like this
Charlie Petty is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 06:39 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
ExSarge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mountain Top, PA
Posts: 1,358
Re: Dynamic Research Technologies, or "DRT" Ammo ...opinions?

Learning the basics of shooting is fine, i.e., sight picture, proper grip, breathing, trigger squeeze.

Then try to remember what you are supposed to do when you are under pressure.

Most of the cop shoot-out shows I watched usually result in a point and pull until the gun is empty.

Saw an excellent example of good training last night where the (I think he was a SWAT team member) shot at a maniac driving a semi full of lumber. He was on the run alongside and slightly behind the cab of the truck and put one into the guy. Now that's shooting under pressure.
ExSarge is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 07:16 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 1,349
Re: Dynamic Research Technologies, or "DRT" Ammo ...opinions?

Quote:
Now that's shooting under pressure.
I'll say. A quick crank on the wheel from the semi driver and it's party over.
Joe Forte is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 07:24 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Tim Burke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Still in NC
Posts: 1,642
Re: Dynamic Research Technologies, or "DRT" Ammo ...opinions?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyGunn
I am interested however in that ball ammo might be considered better ....
Is it that in small calibers penetration becomes more important than a hollowpoint
The theory is that in ALL calibers penetration is more important that bullet expansion, up until you get enough penetration to reliably reach vital structures. In all calibers, expansion retards penetration. With most kinds of 380 ammo, you can get adequate penetration or expansion, but not both.
There are some reports that some of the newer 380 ammos give adequate penetration even with expansion.
Tim Burke is offline  
Old 11-30-2009, 05:22 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Charlie Petty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,363
Re: Dynamic Research Technologies, or "DRT" Ammo ...opinions?

Tim, while I have tested most of the popular 380 loads I haven't tried the newest. I don't think I would expect meaningful expansion with any of them- especially from the popular short barrels- which is why I lean toward ball. One exception might be the Remington Golden Saber because of the 102 gr. bullet.
Charlie Petty is offline  
Old 11-30-2009, 06:10 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
TommyGunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Morgan County, Alabama "In Dixie Land I'll take my stand."
Posts: 7,493
Re: Dynamic Research Technologies, or "DRT" Ammo ...opinions?

Thank you for your opinions; they will be taken into account as I purchase ammunition.

My internet connection was down yesterday -- new modem installed this morning. Man, I was experiencing real bad internet withdrawal syndrome yesterday!
TommyGunn is offline  
Old 11-30-2009, 11:23 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 921
Re: Dynamic Research Technologies, or "DRT" Ammo ...opinions?

From what I've seen and read, I'm not convinced that the QC program of smaller "boutique" ammo makers equals that of the 4 major ammo companies.
HankB is offline  
Reply

  Gun Hub > Gun Hub Forum > Ammunition


Search tags for this page

drt ammo

,
dynamic research technologies
,
dynamic research technologies 380
,

dynamic research technologies ammo

,

dynamic research technologies ammo review

,
dynamic research technologies ammo reviews
,

dynamic research technologies review

,
dynamic research technology ammunition
,
is dynamic research technologies ammo good

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
stock number for "short barrel" ammo for 38spl??? stand watie Ammunition 8 11-17-2006 01:55 PM
Need research help on an "unfired" (?) 03A3... WRMorrison Rifles 19 11-08-2006 04:35 AM
"Garanditus"......(Rifles shipped & Ammo pics) Oryguner M1 Garand 13 10-20-2005 07:44 AM
Czech 7.62 x 39 white tip ammo "target" ammo from sierra69mk Ammunition 3 08-16-2005 01:55 PM
SA "Operator" opinions ted Handguns 4 07-28-2005 06:56 AM




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2002 - 2014 Gun Hub. All rights reserved.